Calendar with Important Election dates

There are four regularly scheduled election dates each year in Oregon: the 2nd Tuesday in March; the 3rd Tuesday in May; the 4th Tuesday in August; and the 1st Tuesday after the first Monday in November. During odd years, the May Special Election is the only election with candidate positions scheduled. During even years, the May Primary and November General are the only elections with candidate positions scheduled. Ballot Measure referrals can be placed on the four scheduled election dates.  A recall election date occurs based on when the recall petition was filed. 


2023 Election Calendar

  • Information on the vacancy for Multnomah County Commissioner Dist. 3, with the position scheduled to be on the May 2023 ballot. 
    • Candidate filing window for County Commissioner Dist. 3
      • Tue. Jan. 3 - Tue. March 7, 2023 (Voters' Pamphlet deadline Thur. March 9)

  • May 16, 2023 Special District Election
    • Candidate Information
      • Sat. Feb. 4, 2023 - First date to file as a candidate
      • Thur. March 16, 2023 - Candidate filing deadline
      • Mon. March 20, 2023 - Voters' pamphlet deadline for candidates
    • Measure Information
      • Fri. Feb. 24, 2023 - Last day for County or Special District to file notice of election (SEL 805)
      • Thur. March 16, 2023 - Last day to file noticed measure of election (SEL 801, 802 or 803)
      • Mon. March 20, 2023 - Measure argument filing deadline for County Voters' Pamphlet
    • Voter Information
      • Fri. March 31, 2023 - Military/overseas ballots mailed
      • Mon. April 3, 2023 - Absentee ballots available
      • Mon. April 17, 2023 - Out of state ballots mailed
      • Tue. April 25, 2023 - Voter registration deadline
      • Wed. April 26, 2023 - Ballots mailed to voters
      • Tue. May 16, 2023 - Election Day
      • Mon. June 12, 2023 - Final Election Results Certified