May 16, 2023 Special District Election

Information on special district positions (Community College, ESD, School, Water and Fire) scheduled to be on the May 2023 ballot will be available no later than Jan. 31st. Districts have until the end of January to notify the Elections Division of positions scheduled to be on the May ballot, including any 2-year unexpired terms due to vacancies. For a list of positions that were on the ballot four years ago, please see the 2019 May Special Election.


Information on the vacancy for Multnomah County Commissioner Dist. 3, with the position scheduled to be on the May 2023 ballot. 


Candidate Information for Special District Election

2023 Elections Calendar.pdf (143.93 KB)

Measure Information

  • County, City, and District Referral Manual (PDF)
  • Filing information
  • Important Dates
    • Fri. Feb. 24, 2023 - Last day for County or Special District to file notice of election (SEL 805)
    • Thur. March 16, 2023 - Last day to file noticed measure of election (SEL 801, 802 or 803)
    • Mon. March 20, 2023 - Measure argument filing deadline for County Voters' Pamphlet

Voter Information

  • Important Dates
    • Fri. March 31, 2023 - Military/overseas ballots mailed
    • Mon. April 3, 2023 - Absentee ballots available
    • Mon. April 17, 2023 - Out of state ballots mailed
    • Tue. April 25, 2023 - Voter registration deadline
    • Wed. April 26, 2023 - Ballots mailed to voters
    • Tue. May 16, 2023 - Election Day
    • Mon. June 12, 2023 - Final Election Results Certified