## Jennifer McGuirk Multnomah County Auditor



Dani Bernstein Raymond De Silva Nicole Dewees Michelle Greene Mandi Hood Annamarie McNiel Rosalie Roberts Marc Rose Sura Sumareh Cheryl Taylor Mark Ulanowicz Mical Yohannes Caroline Zavitkovski

Date: July 3, 2023

To: Jessica Vega Pederson, Multnomah County Chair Serena Cruz, Chief Operating Officer; Director, Department of County Management Erika Preuitt, Director, Department of Community Justice

From: Jennifer McGuirk, Multnomah County Auditor 🎢

RE: Audit of Department of Community Justice – parole and probation sanctions resulting in jail time

Dear Chair Vega Pederson, Chief Operating Officer Cruz, and Director Preuitt,

I am writing to provide official notice that my office is starting an audit of the Department of Community Justice focused on parole and probation sanctions resulting in jail time, as included on my 2023 audit schedule. I have assigned Senior Management Auditor Rosalie Roberts and Management Auditor Mical Yohannes to the audit. Under my direction, Audit Director Nicole Dewees will oversee the audit.

As described in the audit schedule, we are conducting this audit because a significant percentage of the jail population on any given day is made up of people in custody for violating some condition of their probation or parole. Adults in custody who identify as Indigenous are disproportionately impacted, as they are most likely to be held in custody due to a parole or probation violation without other charges. In addition to assessing racial equity, we envision the audit will include describing work the DCJ has done to reduce the use of sanctions, as well as COVID-19 impacts on sanction use.

Multnomah County Auditor's Office 501 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Room 601 Portland, OR 97214 503-988-3320 mult.auditor@multco.us multco.us/auditor

To report suspected fraud, waste, or misuse of County government resources, call 888-289-6839 or visit goodgovhotline.com.

My office will be in touch with you soon to schedule our audit entrance meeting. Please feel free to contact me at any time with questions or concerns.

CC: Sharon Meieran, Commissioner, District 1 Susheela Jayapal, Commissioner, District 2 Julia Brim-Edwards, Commissioner, District 3 Lori Stegmann, Commissioner, District 4 Nicole Morrisey O'Donnell, Sheriff Mike Schmidt, District Attorney Abbey Stamp, Executive Director, Local Public Safety Coordinating Council

To report suspected fraud, waste, or misuse of County government resources, call 888-289-6839 or visit goodgovhotline.com.