For over 15 years, public safety stakeholders have met monthly as Multnomah County’s Local Public Safety Coordinating Council (“LPSCC”) to coordinate their policies and operations and to collectively address issues critical to public safety. The Council, co-chaired by Portland Commissioner Jo Ann Hardesty and Multnomah County Chair Deborah Kafoury, also directs the work of several subcommittees and smaller workgroups that focus on emerging issues within the justice system, such as youth violence prevention, law enforcement agency alignment, pre-trial supervision, and mental health services in the justice system.

Committee Members

LPSCC Co-Chairs

Chair Deborah Kafoury, Chair, Multnomah County
Commissioner Jo Ann Hardesty, Commissioner, City of Portland


Honorable Cheryl Albrecht, Chief Criminal Court JudgeMohammad Bader, Director, Dept. of County Human Services
Gunnar Browning, Field Supervisor, Oregon Youth Authority
Ebony Clarke, Director, Multnomah County Health Department
Justice Chukwu, Advocate, Disability Rights of Oregon
Lakayana Drury, Community Member
Julie Dodge, Interim Director, Behavioral Health Division
Tracey Freeman,  Juvenile Services Division Interim Director, Department of Community Justice
Morgan Godvin, Community Member
Travis Gullberg, Chief, Gresham Police Department 
Patrick Huskey, Lieutenant, Oregon State Police
Chuck Lovell, Chief, Portland Police Bureau
Carl Macpherson, Director, Metropolitan Public Defenders 
Christina McGovney, Director, Home Free--Volunteers of America Oregon
Honorable Judith Matarazzo, Presiding Circuit Court Judge
Robert Northman, Community Member
Jeremiah Stromberg, Oregon Department of Corrections
Erika Preuitt, Director, Department of Community Justice
Mike Reese, Sheriff, Multnomah County Sheriff's Office
Brian Renauer, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Portland State University
Alix Sanchez, County Human ServicesDomestic & Sexual Violence Coordination Office
Mike Schmidt, District Attorney
Honorable Susan Svetkey, Chief Family Court Judge
Jason Wallis, Chief, Port of Portland Police

TBD, US Attorney's Office