Updated June 1, 2023
This webpage provides general workplace guidance for businesses in Multnomah County, Oregon. Certain sectors may have additional guidance that differs from the guidance below.
- Health care settings can set their own masking policies in accordance with current regulations and recommendations. Contact facility licensor or see Oregon Mask and Safety Guidance.
- Long-term care facilities - see COVID-19 Guidance for Long Term Care Facilities
If an employee tests positive or has COVID-19 symptoms
Most employees with COVID-19 or COVID-19 symptoms may return to work when:
- It has been at least 24 hours since they have had a fever AND
- Their symptoms are improving AND
- They are able to wear a well-fitted mask around other people for 10 days starting when they first felt sick or tested positive.
Some workplace settings such as healthcare facilities and long-term care facilities have different quarantine and isolation guidance. Employees of these workplaces should discuss the rules with their employer and can review the Oregon COVID-19 Investigative Guidelines.
Multnomah County does not recommend employers require proof
- of a positive test for a sick worker to stay at home.
- of a negative test to return to work. If an employer does require a test to return to work, the employer must pay for or provide the test.
Employees should still complete the return-to-work requirements listed above before returning.
Do I need to notify my employees if there is a positive case at the workplace?
As of April 3, 2023, employers are not required to notify employees if there has been a work related exposure. See updates to Oregon OSHA rules for employers.
Does an employee have to tell me if they have tested positive for COVID-19?
Employees are not required to report if they test positive for COVID-19. If an employee does choose to share information with you, you must make every effort to keep employee health information protected.
If an employee had close contact with someone with COVID-19, do they need to stay home from work?
Except for in certain high-risk settings like hospitals or long-term care facilities they do not need to stay home from work after a close contact. They should monitor themselves and stay home if they develop symptoms.
Do I need to notify public health?
Only facilities or businesses considered high-consequence settings (as defined by OHA COVID-19 Interim Investigative Guidelines 7.2.1) in Multnomah County with 2 or more confirmed or presumptive cases of COVID-19 with established close contact should contact our Communicable Disease Services team at 503-9898-3406.
Personal Protection Equipment (PPE) Request
Organizations in Multnomah County can request PPE such as
- Disposable paper masks
- Sanitizer wipes
Fill out the Community Resource Request Form and our team will reach out with what we have available to provide.
Businesses and organizations can require masks if they want to. Workers, patients and visitors in health care settings are no longer be required by OHA to wear masks in most situations starting April 3, 2023. Health care entities can set their own masking policies to protect their high risk patients.
Oregon Mask and Safety Guidance
Mask signs to post:
If you receive a report of an employee or employees with a positive COVID-19 test and have questions about how to proceed, you can call the Multnomah County Health Department at 503-988-3406 or email email@example.com.