Updated March 24, 2022
If You Are Employed and Test Positive for COVID-19
Do Not Go To Work
If your employer requires a doctor’s note to stay home, you can contact your doctor, clinic, or the place where you got tested.
Employers should not require employees to have a negative test before being allowed to return to work.
The following letter for employers and employees explains this guidance for COVID-19 cases and the conditions for returning back to work:
Should I tell my employer?
We recommend you tell your employer if you test positive for COVID-19 and have been around other employees or the public at work. You can help slow the spread of COVID-19 by telling your supervisor or employer as soon as possible. People who were around you at work will then know to get tested too.
Will my employer tell my coworkers I tested positive?
Employers are required to tell employees of their exposure to COVID-19 in the workplace (OHA General Guidance for Employers). They must keep information confidential and not reveal your name or personal information as required by the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).
Will my employer question me about COVID-19 symptoms?
During a pandemic, employers who are required to comply with the Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA) may ask employees if they are experiencing symptoms. They must maintain all information about employee illness as a confidential medical record, in compliance with the ADA.
If you are being treated unfairly
If you experience discrimination when you tell your employer you tested positive for COVID-19, contact the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI) to file a report and get help. Report the discrimination as soon as possible. Call 971-673-0761 or email email@example.com.
Contact Oregon OSHA to report hazards at your worksite. Call 503-229-5910 or go to osha.oregon.gov/workers.
Sick Leave Options
- Paid sick time - Oregon law gives all employees sick time, including part-time workers. You get this if your employer has 10 or more employees (6 or more in Portland).
- Essential Protections During the COVID-19 Pandemic Information from U.S. Department of Labor
- Call 211 if you need help to stay home during isolation.
When You’re Ready to Go Back to Work
You can go back to work when
- It has been at least 5 days since your symptoms started or 5 days from your positive COVID test if you never had any symptoms, AND
- Your COVID-19 symptoms are mild, improved, and you are feeling well enough to perform you work duties, AND
- It has been at least 24 hours since you have had a fever without the use of fever-reducing medication, AND
- You are able to wear a well-fitted mask around other people for 5 additional days