Obtaining a public record from Multnomah County

Under Oregon’s Public Records law (ORS 192), individuals,organizations, agencies, and businesses may request that Multnomah County provide copies or access to written documents and materials. The request must:

  • Be in writing.
  • Include contact information.
  • Clearly state what records are sought.

Please be advised there may be a fee to cover staff time researching and retrieving the documents. You will be notified of any estimated fee and cost in advance. Payment is required before the County will produce the records. The fee may be reduced or waived if it is determined it is in the interest of the public.

To email your request

Email your request to the department representative listed below.

All Media Requests

Julie Sullivan-Springhetti, julie.sullivan-springhetti@multco.us

Multnomah County Chair and Board of County Commissioners

Julie Sullivan-Springhetti, julie.sullivan-springhetti@multco.us

Department of Community Justice

Tami Wallis, tami.wallis@multco.us

Department of Community Services

Animal Services

Nicole Hagen, nicole.hagen@multco.us

Elections

Kali Odell, elections@multco.us, 503-988-8613

Land Use Planning

Email Land Use Planning

Transportation

Email Department of Community Services Records and Sarah Hurwitz

Special Districts

Dunthorpe-Riverdale Sanitary Sewer District

Email Department of Community Services Records, dcs.records@multco.us, 503-988-5050

Mid-County Lighting District

Email Department of Community Services Records, dcs.records@multco.us, 503-988-5050

Department of County Assets

Mary-Margaret Wheeler-Weber, mmww@multco.us, 503-240-3344

Department of County Management

Assessment, Recording & Taxation

Larry Steele, larry.a.steele@multco.us, 971-409-3800

Budget Office

Dianna Kaady, dianna.kaady@multco.us, 503-988-7967

Finance

Kristina Guthrie, kristina.guthrie@multco.us, 503-988-7998

Human Resources and Payroll

Kelli Gallippi, kelli.a.gallippi@multco.us, 503-988-7607

Purchasing

Government Relations

Jeston Black, jeston.black@multco.us

Department of County Human Services

Julie Sullivan-Springhetti, julie.sullivan-springhetti@multco.us, 503-502-2741

Medical Examiner's Office

Julie Sullivan-Springhetti, julie.sullivan-springhetti@multco.us, 503-502-2741

Health Department

Sarah Dean, sarah.dean@multco.us

Local Public Safety Coordinating Council (LPSCC)

Jessica Morkert-Shibley, jessica.morkert-shibley@multco.us

Multnomah County Sheriff’s Office

Chris Liedle chris.liedle@mcso.us ​​​​​​ 

Libraries

Shawn Cunningham, shawnc@multcolib.org, 503-988-3097

For requests from vendors related to the 2020 Library Capital bond:
Julie Sullivan-Springhetti, julie.sullivan-springhetti@multco.us

District Attorney

Jeffrey Lowe, (jeffrey.lowe@mcda.us) or
Fax 503-988-3643
Mail: 1200 SW 1st Avenue, Suite 5200
Portland, Oregon 97204

For more on the DA: http://mcda.us/index.php/about-the-da/public-records-request/

Non-Departmental

Julie Sullivan-Springhetti, julie.sullivan-springhetti@multco.us

Emergency Management

Chris Voss, chris.voss@multco.us, 503-988-4649

Office of Diversity and Equity, Office of Sustainability

Julie Sullivan-Springhetti, julie.sullivan-springhetti@multco.us

Joint Office of Homeless Services

Denis Theriault, denis.theriault@multco.us

To mail your request:

Public Record Request Multnomah County 501 SE Hawthorne, Suite 500 Portland, OR 97214

Before you put together your request

Locating Records

  • Confirm that the records you want are located at Multnomah County
  • Check to see if the records are available online

Retention Schedules

  • Find out the typical records a county program has, and how long those records are maintained.
  • This will help you target your requests, and know what is available to be requested.

Looking to report suspected fraud, abuse of position, or misuse of county resources? Submit a report to the County Auditor's Good Government Hotline.