Consent of applicants 17 years of age
Oregon Law prohibits the issuance of a marriage license to anyone under 17 years of age. Applicants who are 17 years old must get the written consent of their parent or guardian.
The parent or guardian must do one of the following in order to provide consent for the 17 year old applicant:
- Come to our office with the couple that is applying for their marriage license. The parent or guardian must present valid photo ID and sign the consent form at the time the marriage license is issued.
- The parent or guardian must have this Consent Form (14.77 KB)notarized and then the 17 year old applicant must submit that notarized consent form when the couple visits our office to obtain their marriage license.
If you do not have a parent or guardian residing within the State of Oregon, a third party can submit a notarized Affidavit for Marriage License Application (21.37 KB). To qualify, you must have resided within Multnomah County for at least the past six months.
Need additional help?
Use our live chat service.