All public swimming pools, spas and water attractions must be licensed and pass regular health inspections. This applies to all public pools, spas, wading pools, swim beaches and similar water recreation sites.
You must obtain a plan review and license before:
- Building a new public pool or spa
- Remodeling a public pool or spa
You must also contact us prior to changing any pump, filter, heater or disinfection device.
Facilities are considered public if they are:
- Associated with more than 4 housing units (including apartments, condo associations and neighborhood associations)
- Private clubs
- Fitness clubs
- Commercial concerns or parks
- Recreation departments
Types of public pool facilities include:
- General use - any member of the general public can pay at the door.
- Limited use - membership, or member guest status, is required for use.
Oregon Pool and Spa Rules
All public swimming pools are required to provide entrapment protection according to the Virginia Graeme Baker Pool and Spa Safety Act. For more information, visit PoolSafety.gov.
Get a License
Submit a completed pool/spa license application along with the license fee payment.
If you are building or remodeling a pool or spa:
You must obtain a plan review before starting construction. Submit to Multnomah County Environmental Health:
- A completed
- A completed
- Detailed construction plans
- Plan review and license fee payments
Once your plan has been approved (about 3-4 weeks) you may begin construction. After the work has been completed, call us to schedule a pre-inspection. You will receive your license after the facility passes the final inspection.
Based on the number of pools/spas at the same location.
- 1-2: $880
- Over 2: $310
- 1-2 seasonal: $450
- Over 2 seasonal: $310
- Minor plan review: $290
- Plan review, new construction or complete replacement less than 2000 sq ft: $1,480
- Plan review, new construction or complete replacement 2000 sq ft and up: $1,860
- Construction permit renewals: $100
Licenses are good for one calendar year. You may also get a seasonal license that is good for 6 consecutive months. Renew your license by paying the license fee by January 1 of each year.
Multnomah County Environmental Health
847 NE 19th Ave, Ste 350
Portland, Oregon (Map)
Hours: Monday to Friday, 8am - 4:30pm