Multnomah County Adult Protective Services provided the Self Reporting Guide. 

Self reporting (2.99 MB)

The guide helps providers understand: 

  • Definition and types of abuse

  • Reporting duties

  • How to use the abuse reporting system

  • Requirements related to abuse reporting for Providers

The sections included are: 

  • Key definitions

  • Applicable Oregon Administrative Rules

  • Interpretive guidelines for abuse

  • Details on reporting 

  • Investigative processes 

  • Other materials

The eight types of abuse covered: 

  • Physical Abuse

  • Neglect

  • Abandonment

  • Verbal or Emotional Abuse

  • Financial Exploitation

  • Sexual Abuse 

  • Involuntary Seclusion

  • Wrongful use of a physical or chemical restraint

This guide is for use by all Providers, and supports a system of reporting that, when followed correctly can ensure residents are protected and safe.