Sellwood Bridge and the East Side Lumber and Manufacturing Company - July 25, 1926. (Image courtesy of the Oregon Historical Society.)

The original Sellwood Bridge opened to traffic on December 15, 1925. Designed by the distinguished bridge engineer Gustav Lindenthal, the bridge employed a unique four span continuous truss design that made it the only bridge of its kind in Oregon. In its day, the Sellwood was the busiest two-lane bridge in the state - carrying about 30,000 cars and light trucks a day.

Next: Before the Bridge