Beaverton School District

Director, Zone 2

Karen Pérez-Da Silva

Occupation: K-12 Systems Administrator, Education Northwest

Occupational Background: Teacher, Beaverton School District (1999–2016); Adjunct Professor, Lewis and Clark Graduate School of Education; District Administrator, Eugene School District 4J

Educational Background: Doctorate, Lewis and Clark Graduate School of Education; Masters in Special Education and Elementary Education, Portland State University

Prior Governmental Experience: Oregon Department of Education, English Language Learner Task Force member; Oregon Association of Latino Administrators, Vice President


As a mom to two Barnes Elementary students and a lifelong educator, Dr. Karen Pérez-Da Silva knows the challenges facing our schools—and she knows how we can fix them.

AN EXPERIENCED EDUCATOR AND LEADER. After 20 years as a classroom teacher, Karen has continued working to improve schools and districts as a teacher, mentor, administrator, advisor, and parent-teacher organization member.

PUTTING STUDENTS FIRST. Karen will create budgets  and policies that prioritize the needs of Beaverton’s 41,000 students. This is crucial as COVID has caused thousands of students to fall behind academically and negatively impacted their mental health and well-being.

CREATING SCHOOLS WHERE EVERYONE BELONGS. Karen will work with everyone in our school communities - from bus drivers, teachers, parents, and principals to local government and business leaders - to ensure Beaverton’s schools are welcoming and safe to students of all races, zip codes, religions, and cultures.

COMMUNITY DECISION-MAKING. When students and communities have a voice, leaders make better decisions  and students have better outcomes. Karen will improve public access to decision-making, so families have a school board that doesn’t just listen, but connects.


Beaverton School Board Members: Donna Tyner, Tom Colett, Susan Greenberg, LeeAnn Larsen

Oregon Education Association

Beaverton Education Association

Planned Parenthood PAC of Oregon

Beaverton Mayor Lacey Beaty

Beaverton City Councilors Nadia Hasan,

Metro Councilor, District 4 Juan Carlos González

Washington County Commissioner Nafisa Fai

Stand for Children

THPRD Board members: Ashley Hartmeier-Prigg, Felicita Monteblanco, Tya Ping

Washington County Democratic Party

Learn More:

(This information furnished by Karen Pérez-Da Silva)